Start a new topic

Hifimediy T1 Alps TK2050 STA510 version 1.4 with Connexelectronics SMPS300R 28V 300W

Hifimediy T1 Alps TK2050 STA510 version 1.4 with Connexelectronics SMPS300R 28V 300W

Intro:
First, about myself:
I am not an electronic expert, I am a mechanical engineer by profession, servicing machines used in semiconductor assembly.
I am a Filipino, residing in Singapore for 9 years now, looking for a good sounding system with decent power but on a budget.
I like doing diy's, not so much on electronics, but I'm certainly not shy to do one.:cool:

Second, about the project:
Our 5-hours-per-day-everyday-used-for-watching-TV, 150 Watts per channel, 10+ years old BMB (Japan) amplifier is about to give-up.
The sound just mutes everynow and then for about 5 seconds everytime and then sounds back again.:mad:
Sometimes I have to give it a hard tap on the side to get the sound back faster- hmm, looks like a loose connection inside.

That started my quest for a good sounding amp to replace it, so I googled, learned about Tripath based amps-that many have given high ratings. To give it a try, I bought a TA2020 amp made by Indeed, and it was able to drive our 200 watts/channel BMB speakers with good clean sound-it's great.
But the amp is set to it's maximum volume level (but no distortion)-good for our TV watching but not for our occasional karaoke singing, :rolleyes:hehe.

So I looked for a more powerful Tripath amp (>80 watts/channel) but all (complete-cased-amps) are about US$300- out of my budget.:(
In my search I read about this TK2050 amp designed by hifimediy and receiving good reviews.
I also learned about Connexelectronics power supplies, clean noiseless power, being sold here!
I reckon, I'm going to do some diy myself, hehe. So I bought the pair...till next...
Before I took the plunge, I have to review my objectives and reason for the decision:

Good sounding amp = good reviews