Start a new topic

Ammo Amp

Ammo Amp

I came hoping to see a sticky in the forum for guys like me, but missed it. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I love electronics. This is my first DIY project. Here's what I'm trying to accomplish:

This is what I have so far:

- 24V 1.5A smart charger for 7Ah- 12Ah SLA batteries

- Two 12V 5Ah SLA batteries wired in a series (the charger says 7-12Ah, and that's the lowest I could find. Will it work ok?)

- A single pole, single throw sealed marine rocket switch (on the + line?)

- A T2 amp board with the provided RCA wiring

- Two panel mount RCA jacks

- Two Polk DB401 marine speakers

I'm nervous because I've not done this before... How does the drawing look?

What type of wire should I use to avoid interference and/or safety issues?

Thanks!
Yikes... Move the switch to the other side of the battery series... Ooops... Also adding 12-24v usb adapter...

Again, all comments and suggestions welcome, but the questions in red are really on my mind...

Thanks!
Anyone? I know one of you geniuses has an idea...
You should add a fuse when using batteries just to be safe.
I'm not expert on charger specs, you should ask the battery charger seller if that charger is ok for this.
Switch could be on either + or - lines. You could use a single switch between the two batteries.
Did you plan on having the charger connected while running on batteries? I think that would take away some of the benefits of batteries.
First, thanks for taking the time to look at this. I ordered two more boards, as my dad and cousin now want one.

I will add a fuse. Any recommendation on what type of fuse and holder to wire in?

Also, I added a switch between the charger and batteries on the + line... To answer your question, I will not plug this in while listening unless there is an outlet available. The batteries are intended to make it portable. I've included a picture of how I have it wired right now (without the fuse).