Start a new topic

t1 headphone amp - hiss

t1 headphone amp - hiss

I am a noob so please be kind.
I have the SMPS300R and the T1 headphone amp. I have wired the power from a computer cable.

AC Power In
Green striped - slot 1
blue - slot 2
brown - slot 3

DC Power to Amp
I have two wires going from the Ground Out / Positive Out going to the T1 V+ and Ground. On the PSU side, I have both wires soldered directly to those pins, and the connections seem to be solid. Everything on the amp side is only screwed in. Currently, there is no connection to the Negative Out.

Headphones Out
There are 4 wires going to my 3.5mm female headphone jack. I have twisted the Out's together and they are soldered to the middle of the 3.5mm jack. The other two wires are going to the smaller l/r connections on the 3.5mm

Audio In
I have the red and black wires going to the left/right, and the white wire going to the middle connection.

Voltage Dial
I have not touched the voltage dial on the PSU. I assume it is ok where it is.

So, I'm not sure why I have a lot of hiss. Also, the audio is horrible as though it is very underpowered or getting inconsistent power.
The instructions for the SMPS300R say that if there is a lot of hiss, to: "If noise or hum is experienced due to the incorrect GND connection, the GND loop breaker circuit made of R33 and C33 (can be seen in the right side of the mains fuse) should be connected using the dedicated solder pads on the bottom of the PCB."

I can identify the resistor and the cap to the right of the fuse, but I am not sure what to do with this. Which ends are supposed to be connected to where?

Also, I know that the instructions said to use the connectors for the output, but I kind of goofed them up a bit and just went with putting the wires through the holes and soldering them in.

So, what should I do?

Edit: also, the hiss is there from the get-go, it doesnt matter what volume anything is at.