Start a new topic

Adding a pre out (subwoofer) to T1 ALPS?

Hi there

Total beginner here!

I'm busy putting together my awesome little T1 and the SMPS300R, and was thinking of including a pre-out section from the volume control as stereo RCA jacks on the back panel to drive my subwoofer.

Attached is a picture of what I have in mind.

Anyone have any idea how best to do this? I don't need to mix the signal to mono (my sub accepts stereo input), but from what I vaguely understand I need a "unity gain" buffer to keep the pre out signal clean from interfering with the subwoofer. Or am I overthinking this?

Any experience or advice regarding adding pre-outs to the T1 would be welcome!

Hi, yes that will work. 

Do you have a preamp already?

Hi Hifime - thanks for the reply!

Sorry, by "preamp" I just meant the preamp section of the T1 - the volume controller (ALPS pot). So in the attached image, there are two scenarios:

A) I just run some wires from the ALPS pot, connected to some RCA female jacks. These can then connect to my subwoofer.

B) In this case, a Unity Gain buffer is added between the ALPS pot and the RCA jacks.

So my questions are:

1. Is the Unity Gain buffer needed (scenario B)?

2. Where on the ALPS pot would I attach the wires needed to connect the RCA jacks?

Sorry, total newbie here - I'm essentially looking for some step-by-step instructions for how I'd add a pre-out to my T1 :)

(81.2 KB)

yes it will work like that without a buffer. You should keep the cables as short as possible to reduce noise.

1 person likes this

Hi Hifime

It's been a while, but I finally tapped the ALPS volume pot center pins, and wired them to a little through-hole terminal block. From there, I can connect two wires from the Left and Right outputs from the pot to some RCA jacks, and connect my subwoofer.